top of page
  • Baby Steps and Finance

Our 2020



This year has been everything we had and hadn't expected. I do need to admit that it makes me sad that the year of 2020 will be most likely know as the Year of Corona whereas for us it was the Year of the Birth of Our Daughter...

Hereby the tops and the flops of our year.

Let's start with the good side :-)

  1. Our little daughter was born. I have never felt such joy before than now, just looking at her and holding her. She has become such a little person with her own wishes and character, and she is not shy about it! It is pure pleasure to have her around.

  2. We are healthy and our families as well. So far, thankfully (knock on wood), no-one of our close relatives and friends have been sick with the corona virus.

  3. In January, we moved into our own first house. It was a long wait but it was totally worth it! We were able to purchase it before the real estate prices skyrocketed and now we are living in an upcoming neighbourhood with quite a bit of green space, and very nice neighbours!

  4. Our income hasn't been affected by corona. We actually earned more than predicted for this year, but because of the birth of M, I have cut my hours down, so this will change next year.

  5. M's grandparents were able to come and stay with us for 3 months, so her attendance at the daycare was delayed. All of us enjoyed their 'holiday' very much.

  6. We visited Estonia with M in the summer. I couldn't be happier that we did it when we could. It is hard to believe that we were doubting back then, thinking that it is very dangerous. Had we known...

  7. I have been able to partially breastfeed up to this day. I don't know what future holds (OK, she will be weaning herself at some point!) but I am very happy about that.

  8. Both of us continued pursuing our careers and studies and are well on track with that. I am more convinced of which way I want to continue and I feel in peace with that.

  9. We have made two extra payments to pay off our mortgage.

  10. Before it all broke out, we went to visit London. It was my first time there and I hope I will be back!

Now some less good points of 2021.

  1. The C-word. I don't even want to start.

  2. Living abroad was really difficult this year due to many (conflicting) reasons.

  3. Some parts of having a newborn/new baby were so much harder than I had assumed. Breastfeeding was a bitch and her sleep was difficult as well. I hope that I have learned and will be smarter about some things next time.

  4. I have been sick several times which is quite uncommon for me. Being sick when you have a baby is a completely different deal.

  5. I have read and ran less this year. It all will come but I do need to make a conscious effort for that.

  6. This year and changes in our life have been testing our relationship some, but we are talking about it and making some changes.

  7. Too much time spent scrolling around the internet.

  8. Our budget estimate was somewhat off, but mostly balanced still. It has demanded some cuts here and there, but I think we are on track. I am yet to do a more in depth analysis of it.

It seems like the positive points were still in majority! I am happy about that :-)

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

M at 2 years and 8 months

It has yet been again a big 2 months. It has been very busy and she turned 2 y 8 mo just before we went on holiday to Estonia. Important - Still potty trained, we are so proud of her! - Her focus is o

bottom of page