top of page
  • Baby Steps and Finance

The second trimester (14th to 27th week)

The second trimester of my pregnancy flies by. My studies are keeping me busy, work a little less. For the 20 week ultrasound, I put on my pregnancy jeans for the first time but start wearing pregnancy shirts even later. Thinking back, I could have started to use them longer, because these are quite the clothes with an expiry date.

At the 22nd week, we are happy to get the keys of our first own house. Four days after that we depart for our holiday in Estonia and the UK. The two-hour flight doesn't make me worry but just in case I bring the papers about the pregnancy and a Fit to Fly-document. When we are on the plane, I try to walk as much to reduce the risk of thrombosis. During this vacation, I start to notice the little complaints of the 2nd trimester: for the first time in my life, I've got heartburn. It's also getting uncomfortable to tie my shoes (after January, I ditch all shoes with laces) and I've got muscle cramps in my legs.


Beautiful Oxford

We spend the last days of our holiday in London and Oxford. It was an ideal trip - we visit at least one museum and walk at least 10 km a day, and dine at interesting places representing different world cuisines. As a bonus, I get to sit at public transit, because my pregnancy is now visible for others as well.

The first day of the 27th week is remarkable for us - namely, we're moving! The moment that we've been looking forward to for long is finally here. In the morning I'm still lifting some (not heavy) boxes, but my husband makes an end to this quickly. With the help of friends, we're moved with 4 hours and we spend the night at our own house for the first time. At the house where our child will be born! Unbelievable!

Just before moving, we purchase the first bigger item for the baby, a second-hand stroller. After moving we can finally start setting up the room for him or her.

During the 2nd trimester, I'm still working out quite a bit. Although I need to stop with regular yoga at about 20 weeks, when it becomes a bit uncomfortable, I start doing pregnancy yoga. I also switch from a group running training to independent running again. Despite this, I still enjoy moving!



Left: 15+1 weeks

Middle: halfway there, 20+1

Right: 24+1, a very important day for me, the baby could now survive outside the uterus (with great help)

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

M at 2 years and 8 months

It has yet been again a big 2 months. It has been very busy and she turned 2 y 8 mo just before we went on holiday to Estonia. Important - Still potty trained, we are so proud of her! - Her focus is o

bottom of page